Read More



The Mount Gambier Private Hospital is governed by a Board of Directors and supported by a Chief Executive Officer. The Board consists of seven local community volunteer members who bring a diverse range of professional expertise and community representation.  In July 2018, the Board appointed a new Chief Executive Officer (this position was previously held by the Regional Director of Country Health SA Local Health Network, South East Region).

Current Board Members

Sue Morris
Sue together with her family, has been a member of the Mount Gambier business community for the past 28 years.  In 2017 Sue was the recipient of a Women in Business & Regional Developments  'Influential Women in Business Award'.  She has been a Board Member of the Mount Gambier Private Hospital since August 2016.

Deb Paschke
Deb is an active community volunteer and fundraiser supporting a variety of local organisations.  She is a strong advocate for the growth and development of facilities in our region with a particular emphasis on the attraction and retention of professionals.

Catherine Lunnay
Cathy is the Area Manager for Benson Radiology and also a business Director for Naralilla Homes and is knowledgeable in the strategic, planning, operational and statistical elements of both business and board expectations. She has extensive Board experience and been involved in committees that have overseen finance, risk, governance and accreditation.  


Dr Matthias Wichmann
Dr Wichmann works as a consultant general surgeon in Mount Gambier and is an Associate Professor with Flinders University and the University of Adelaide.  He has been the clinical chair of the Mulitidisciplinary Cancer Care team at Mount Gambier hospital since its inception in 2008 and is co-editor of four recently published surgical textbooks.  In 2018,  Dr Wichmann was presented with a Royal Australasian College of Surgeons "Outstanding Service to the Community" award for his contribution to health in the southeast of South Australia. 

Michael Young
Michael is a member of the Institute of Chartered Accountants of Australia.  He has experience in Aged Care facilitation along with a strong background in taxation, superannuation and estate, and in succession planning, especially in small business. Michael is a long-term Board member, serving since 2012.

Sandra Parsons
Sandra has worked in Health Service Management in Mount Gambier since 2006, more recently at Country Health SA managing the Medical Officer Credentialing team.  Previous roles at Mount Gambier Hospital were Manager Corporate Services and Director of Finance. In 2019 Sandra started as Chief Operating Officer for Boandik.  She was a volunteer member of the Boandik Board (11 years) and from 2015 was Treasurer and Chair of the Finance, Audit & Risk Committee. Sandra has a Bachelor of Business / Bachelor of Commerce and CPA qualifications.

Dr Peter Charlton
Dr Charlton has been a general practitioner at the Hawkins Medical Clinic for over 45 years.  He has a special interest in obstetrics and women's health.  Peter has been a member of the Board since 2015.

Chief Executive Officer

Sandi Elliott
Sandi has worked extensively within the health and education sectors and has actively contributed to the successful delivery of health education and support programs for the rural and remote workforce. She was the recipient of the SA Regional Brand Limestone Coast 'Health Award' 2014 and a finalist of the 'Innovations Award' in 2014 and "Health Award" in 2015.